Newest finds: Nottingham vintage weigh and pay

At the end of January I headed to the weigh and pay kilo sale at Nottingham Trent University’s student union.  It was a chilly Sunday morning, and I dragged my slightly hungover, very less-than-impressed boyfriend along.

I adhered to most of my guidelines, however, I didn’t actually try anything on this time, as I didn’t find a huge number of items, and given how successfully my dress-into-a-skirt experiment panned out, I was confident that I would be able to cope with any sizing mistakes.

I bought six items in total, for the princely sum of £30 – so exactly two kilos of goodies.

I haven’t managed to get pictures of two items – one is a Green Bay Packers varsity team t-shirt, which I’ve been wearing to cardio along with my tie-dye and bleach spatter creations (you can read about them here).  The other item is sat in my mend-then-wash pile; it’s a navy chunky knitted cardi, with four buttons and low fastening.  I normally don’t touch second hand knits with a ten foot pole, but this was an exception.

The four other items I purchased were dresses, although one I have lent to my sister-in-law, and when it is returned I may make into a skirt.  The other three are absolute winners though!

20170202_073512
Poppy print with pleated skirt

First up is my favourite, and my colleague’s favourite too – a red floral print on bright blue background, with a pleated skirt.  The top is somewhat boxy, as per the 80’s standard, but it looked cute with a cable knit jumper over the top and the large pewter button on show.

20170202_073119
Oversized navy stripes

The second one is the striped dress, which is very low cut, but looks cool over a skinny long sleeve, with a patent belt.  I’ll need to add a press stud to prevent gaping across the bust, but that’s no big deal.

20170202_073143
To be converted into a skirt

The third dress is the one I’ll likely make into a skirt as the top half is just enormous.  What you can’t tell from the picture is that it buttons all the way through.

20170202_073007
Royal blue with grid print maxi

The final dress is maxi length in royal blue, with a grid woven through the fabric.  It even came with it’s original wide gold belt (which has seen better days) but will look brilliant with flat sandals in the summer.

A successful trip, I’d say – what do you think?

Leave a Reply

