Top ten: the bag edition

I love handbags,  as I mentioned in my buying tips.  I thought it would be nice to show the variety of vintage bags in my collection.  Here are my favourite ten.

From top row down, left to right:

  • Brown cross body with buckle – Oxfam, Beeston
  • Navy cross body with multiple pockets inside – Mind, Dursley
  • Red cross body (with structured handle) – vintage fair, Harrogate
  • Black angled sided (with detachable shoulder strap) – weigh and pay sale, Derby
  • Black striped patent clutch with gold details – Salvation Army, Beeston
  • White clutch (with detachable cross body strap) – Salvation Army, Beeston
  • Black sunburst (with detachable cross body strap) – Cow Vintage, Nottingham
  • Red cross body – Cow Vintage, Nottingham
  • Navy structured handbag – Sue Ryder, Beeston
  • Tan small satchel – weigh and pay sale, Derby

20170219_091135

The best part of this bag collection is that they’ve cost me hardly anything at all.  The most expensive was the sunburst bag, which I think was around £20.  The bags from the charity shops cost at most £5, but I distinctly recall paying £2.50 for each of the navy bags, and the top one is the bag I took on our American holiday adventure in 2015!  The white clutch was in a window display in the old branch of Salvation Army, at a whopping £1.95.

All the bags are in great condition – the only ones which have needed a little attention are the two tan bags; the satchel style one had suffered slightly with being badly stored, but a generous helping of leather cream and clear polish have sorted that out, as has a new strap (which I fashioned with a belt purchased at the same sale).

What’s your favourite vintage bag?  I’d love to know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

