DIY: velvet dress into shirt

A few years ago I saw an awesome black velvet shirt dress in a Barnardo’s charity shop.  I knew it was a late-80’s/early-90’s piece as the brand (Yessica) is one I remember seeing when I was little in C&A (a casualty of the UK high street in the mid-90’s).

Unfortunately, despite it being a size 12, and the sleeves, bust and waist fitting perfectly, there was no way it was going to do up around my hips.  It would have been incredibly short if it had done up anyway.

I decided to salvage it by hacking the bottom 8 inches off the bottom, folding it up to create a new hem and wearing it as a shirt.  It’s been a staple in my wardrobe since then.

I’ve paired this shirt with my dark skinny jeans an oversized bead necklace and a matching beaded cuff.

20170219_094224

Outfit details:

  • Shirt – vintage (was a dress)
  • Jeans – Dorothy Perkins (Bailey high waisted super skinny style)
  • Necklace and cuff – Primark

Have you converted any dresses into shirts?  If so I’d love to know how you got on!

Leave a Reply

